Portraits & Applesauce Bread

This week I put the finishing touches on two portraits I started well over a year ago. It feels good to have finally finished them!

This portrait is of my sister, Deniz:

image

Deniz is an author of historical romances, you can check out her blog at The Girdle of Melian.

The next portrait is of yours truly on her wedding day. That was five years and two children ago so I look slimmer, younger and much less tired then I do now!

image

I’m quite proud of these drawings because I usually have a hard time making portraits actually look like the people I am drawing. These turned out quite well.

 

On to the applesauce bread! This was a new recipe that I found in a free magazine from Walmart. It’s called applesauce bread, but really, it should be called applesauce cake! Aside from making the applesauce from scratch the cake was fast and easy. (The prep time is fast, the cooking takes over an hour.)

Here is the recipe for the applesauce:
8 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp lemon juice

Mix the apples, water, lemon juice and sugar in a saucepan. Boil, then reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, covered, until apples are tender about 25 to 30 mins. Pass the apples through a sieve and serve/use immediately or refrigerate up to one week.

I didn’t follow the directions exactly. Instead of chopping the apples I used this handy fruit grater that I have for making baby food:

image

I figured I would waste less apple this way and avoid the extra step of having to pass the apples through a sieve. I also assumed that since it would allow me to use most of the apples with very little waste that I wouldn’t need eight of them! Three large Granny Smith apples produced just a little over two cups of grated apple, and when cooked there were exactly two cups.

image

In the future I will also omit adding sugar to the applesauce–I don’t think it’s necessary, the cake has enough sugar…

Here is the recipe for the “bread”:
2 cups flour
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter at room temperature
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinammon
2 eggs
1 cup applesauce
1 cup raisins or currants

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. Beat the sugar and butter with an electric mixer until smooth. Beat in the eggs and then stir in the applesauce. Slowly add the dry ingredients and finally, mix in the raisins or currants. Pour into a 9×5 in. buttered/greased loaf pan, and cook at 325 F for approximately one hour and ten minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the centre comes out clean.

I added raisins to the batter and they were indeed a yummy addition. A few days later I made another “loaf” with my son’s help, and he of course requested chocolate chips instead of raisins. I don’t think they suited the flavour of the cake as well as the raisins did. In the future I will also try walnuts as I will definitely be making this cake again–it was quite tasty!

image

 

5 thoughts on “Portraits & Applesauce Bread

  1. Yes the apple sauce bread sounds interesting … and would make a good desert base … while your art work is just amazing – I just can’t draw – not even for a toffee! Cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pear Bread | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

