Cottage Sunset & Coconut Macaroons

We’ve all been taking turns getting sick in our house, so I haven’t had much time for drawing. Thankfully, there is an amazing app on the iPad called Paper by FiftyThree. It’s a great drawing tool and best of all, it allows me to draw while nursing my daughter–something that isn’t doable with real pencil and paper. Here is what I made using Paper; it’s the view from my in-laws’ cottage:

image

Here is the photograph that was my inspiration:

image

Since I had a few sick children to look after this week (husband included!) I opted for a new but easy recipe. Coconut Macaroons have minimal ingredients and prep time so they fit the bill. This recipe is from one of our favourite cook books, Martha Stewart’s Cookies–a whole book with nothing but cookie recipes!!! Yum!

The recipe is as follows:
2.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 large egg whites
Pinch of salt

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly with your hands. Dampen hands with cold water. Use 1.5 tablespoons to form mounds and place them on baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing them approximately one inch apart. Bake at 325 F for about 16-17 minutes or until golden brown, rotating halfway through. And voila:

image

The recipe states that you can store them in an air tight container for up to three days, but they were much too tasty to last that long. Even my husband, who is not a fan of coconut, liked them. I couldn’t help myself, I ate one every time I entered the kitchen… Here is my official taste tester enjoying a macaroon:

image

image

4 thoughts on “Cottage Sunset & Coconut Macaroons

  1. Pingback: Ottawa Greenbelt & Chocolate Coconut Macaroons | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

