House in Bruges & Honey Florentines

This week I tried to finish a drawing that I’ve been working on for months. I started it a few weeks before my daughter was born, and once she showed up I didn’t have a chance to finish it. It’s almost done, I’m still not finished because my daughter chose to have a growth spurt this week and naps became merely a suggestion. I have to work on the front gate, trees and shrubbery, add more shadows and shading, and tidy up some details. Hopefully my daughter will nap better next week and I’ll finally be done with it.

image

I came across this house, and many other beautiful-going-to-be-drawn-someday houses two years ago while visiting family in Bruges. Here is a photograph of the house that was the basis for my drawing:

image

As you can see I changed a few details, and others are just plain wrong because I did it all without doing any proper measurements. Normally I would take the time to carefully measure the vanishing points and all the windows and doors, but I simply eye-balled it since I have limited time to draw. I’d like to eventually paint this house with oils…

This week’s dessert is Honey Florentines. I have this fantastic organic honey that I’ve been wanting to use…

image

…so I searched through my cookbooks for a good recipe that uses honey. I found an easy recipe for honey florentines in the treasure trove that is Martha Stewart’s Cookies:

1.5 tbsp honey
2 tbsp packed brown sugar
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
2 tbsp unsalted butter
Pinch of salt

Melt the butter, sugar and honey in a small saucepan. Transfer to a bowl and mix in the flour and salt. Using a 1/2 tsp drop mounds of batter about 3 inches apart on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.  Bake at 375 F for about 6 minutes, or until the cookies turn golden brown.

image

I found it very hard to get the cooking time right for the florentines; the cookies at the back of the oven cooked much faster and were almost burned by the time the cookies at the front were done. They also spread quite a bit, and turned into one giant cookie on each baking sheet. You need a very large oven and at least four baking sheets in order not to waste any batter. But I did enjoy them! They were sweet, but light.

6 thoughts on “House in Bruges & Honey Florentines

  1. Pingback: Halloween Doodles & Pumpkin Pie | dessertsanddrawings

  2. Pingback: Drawings in Progress | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

