Halloween Doodles & Pumpkin Pie

This week I had some fun making Halloween doodles using my favourite app, Paper by FiftyThree:

image

image

image

image

I recently bought myself FiftyThree’s stylus pen, Pencil. It’s made an already amazing app even more enjoyable. If you have an iPad and enjoy drawing even a little bit, Paper and Pencil are absolute must haves!

I was also able to complete last week’s drawing. It was a bit rushed, but I’m still quite happy with it. It’s also ominous looking enough to fit right in with my Halloween doodles.

image

Dessert! It’s autumn and I love anything pumpkin, so I made some pumpkin pie. For the crust I used none other than the world’s best crust recipe by chef Jacques Pepin. The recipe for the filling Is from How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittmann.

Crust:
2 cups flour
1.5 sticks of butter (cold, unsalted)
1/3 cup cold water
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sugar

Cut the butter into quarter inch cubes and place the flour, butter, salt and sugar in a bowl. Mix the ingredients so that all the butter pieces are coated with flour. Add the water and start kneading the ingredients together. Be careful not to overwork the dough, and roll it out immediately. Roll the dough onto the rolling pin so that it can be lifted using the rolling pin and unrolled into the pan. Shape the edges with a small fork.

I often divide the dough between two 8 inch pans, but you can of course make a bigger, thicker crust in a 9 inch pan. I like making two crusts because I usually make dessert with one and a quiche with the other.

image

I recently purchased a crust protector and some pie weights, and this was the perfect opportunity to try them out; the crust needs to be pre-cooked before the pumpkin filling is added. Bake the crust at 425 F for approximately 10 to 12 minutes with the weights (or with rice or dried beans placed on buttered foil or parchment paper), then reduce the temperature to 350 F, remove the weights and bake for another 10 to 15 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

image

The weights didn’t do as good a job as I had hoped; since the entire crust wasn’t covered the parts that remained uncovered bubbled quite a bit. The crust protector also isn’t ideal; it flattened most of the fork grooves. Next time I will try a combination of the weights and some rice to really fill the crust…

Pumpkin filling:
2 cups pumpkin
2 cups milk
3 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg (the real recipe uses freshly grated nutmeg)
1/2 ground ginger
Pinch ground cloves
Pinch salt

Beat the eggs with the sugar, then add the spices and salt. Stir in the pumpkin and the milk. Warm the mixture in a sauce pan but be careful not to let it boil. Add the filling to a still hot crust and bake at 375 F for about 40 mins, or until it has the jiggly consistency of set jello.

The filling recipe is for a 9 inch pie, so if I’m dividing my dough into two crusts I either make two 8 inch pumpkin pies, or I halve the recipe. Since I can’t halve an egg I use just one, and compensate with a little extra pumpkin. It’s such a good recipe that even when altered it’s still phenomenal.

In the end, the pie wasn’t very pretty to look at, but as always it was absolutely delicious. Topped with some freshly whipped cream it’s one of my all time favourite desserts.

image

5 thoughts on “Halloween Doodles & Pumpkin Pie

  1. I love the with too! And the haunted house (and the Bruges house).
    Why does the foil need to be buttered if using rice as a weight – so it won’t stick?
    Wish I was eating this right now…Mmm, real whipped cream…

    Like

  2. Pingback: New House & Apple Pie | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

