View From the Window & Pumpkin Muffins

This week’s drawings are of the view from the backdoor window. This was how the view appeared about two months ago before the leaves started changing:

image

Once again, I made this using Paper by Fiftythree. One of the reasons I love this app so much is because I can “rewind” what I’ve drawn and do it over and over again until I get it right. That is also one of the reasons why oil paints are my most preferred medium–I can keep painting on the same spot over and over again, and so having an “undo” option provides a similar benefit.

This is the view from the same back door but at a different angle and obviously at a different time of day.

image

I made this one in a rush just to capture the lighting and colour of the moment. Eventually I’d like to paint it in oils. This is another reason why the Paper app is so great for me–I can’t work fast enough to make a watercolour sketch or quick oil painting, but I can use Paper to mix the right colours and use it as a template for a future painting. Usually I photograph things I want to paint, but in instances like this where the subject matter won’t photograph well it’s great to be able to create an accurrate record of the right tones and colours.

I had some leftover pumpkin after I made last week’s pumpkin pie, so this week I made pumpkin muffins. Originally I wanted to make pumpkin bread but I couldn’t find a good recipe. All the recipes I found online used a minimum of three cups of sugar, and some used four!!! That’s a lot of sugar! Finally I came across a recipe for pumpkin muffins that was somewhat decent, but I altered it and half invented my own recipe:

1 2/3 cups flour
3/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup pumpkin
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
Pinch ground cloves
Pinch ground nutmeg
Pinch salt
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl mix eggs, pumpkin and butter, then pour over dry ingredients and mix gently. Finally, mix in the chocolate chips. Bake at 350 F in a buttered muffin tin for approximately 25 minutes, or until the muffins are golden. Topped with some whipped cream they were fantastic:

image

Here’s my trusty and handsome taste tester enjoying a pumpkin muffin:

image

One thought on “View From the Window & Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

