Baby Entertainment & Butter Cake

This week’s drawing is for my daughter. She sits in her chair at least once a day while I cook or do dishes, and she is a very visual baby, so I made her something more fun to look at than just a plain white dishwasher. It’s a simple board on which I made a little scenery and to which we can velcro various other drawings that I’ve previously made (these drawings are laminated and survived my son’s infancy. I had made a similar board for him when he was a baby, but he didn’t show much interest in it until he was older and big enough to bend, tear and eventually destroy it). Here is the board pre-velcro strips:

image

And here it is with a few extra images attached:

image

And finally, here is my little lady enjoying the view whilst having a good chew:

image

Dessert this week is courtesy of the women of the 1968 Montreal B’nai B’rith Mount Sinai Chapter. We inherited their cookbook from my husband’s late great Aunty Ethel:

image

The recipe for butter cake was nice and simple:

1/2 cup unsalted soft butter
1.5 cups flour
1 cup sugar (I used brown sugar and only 3/4 cup)
3 tsp baking powder (I used only 2.5 tsp)
2/3 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla

Blend the butter, flour, sugar, baking powder and milk with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla, and mix until just blended. Pour into a buttered 9 inch square baking pan and bake at 350 F for 40 to 45 minutes. Easy peasy!

The cake was light, fluffy, and delicious. I am going to make it again very soon I think, but I will try adding some lemon rind for a little extra flavour.

image

5 thoughts on “Baby Entertainment & Butter Cake

  1. Pingback: Corn & Butter Cake with Lemon | dessertsanddrawings

  2. Pingback: Mother & Baby & Chocolate Butter Cake | dessertsanddrawings

  3. Pingback: Fun with Sharpies & Sugar Cookies | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

