Sketches for Watercolour Paintings & Apple Tart

My brother-in-law recently posted a photo on Facebook, and as soon as I saw it I had the urge to paint it. Here is his photo of the Rhone River:

image

And here is a quick sketch I made on some watercolour paper.

image

I don’t have a lot of experience or skill with watercolour, so I’m not too sure when I will actually muster up the courage to paint it. But when I do, I also plan on making a painting of this picture that I took driving home from work one day:

image

Here is my sketch:

image

For the record, I never use my phone when driving. The day I took this photo there was quite a bit of traffic and I was at a full stop, that’s why the car in front of me is so far ahead; when traffic started moving I was still busy taking photos, much to the annoyance of the drivers behind me. But this sunset was too gorgeous not to photograph!

Dessert this week is apple tart. My grandmother used to make this all the time when I was young.

3 eggs
2 cups chopped apple
1 cup sugar
1.5 cups plus 2 tbsp flour
1 tsp baking powder (I used 1/2 tsp baking soda)
Pinch of salt

Mix the eggs with the sugar, then add the remaining ingredients. Pour the batter into a buttered 9 inch glass baking dish, sprinkle with cinnamon and bake at 350 F for about 30 minutes.

image

It didn’t turn out as well as my grandmother’s. I don’t remember her ever looking at a recipe, so perhaps she  used slightly different amounts of various ingredients. I think next time I’ll try a little less flour, a bit more apple, and maybe less baking soda. I also added a little too much salt I think, but I still enjoyed having the tart with my tea…

image

4 thoughts on “Sketches for Watercolour Paintings & Apple Tart

  1. Hey Simla!

    I want to try your apple tart recipe. (I made a pie this weekend and I have some leftover apples.) Can you substitute baking power for baking soda at a 2:1 ratio? I didn’t think they were interchangeable. I’ll try it with more apples and less flour, as you suggested. 🙂

    Like

    • Based on the info I found after a quick google search they are interchangeable. A random chemist’s website I found suggested to use approximately a 2:1 ratio, he said baking soda was stronger…I recently decided to stop using baking powder because for the first time in my life I decided to look at the ingredients of baking powder and the main brand that we all buy has corn starch in it, whereas baking soda is just sodium bicarbonate. Good luck with the pie! Let me know how it turns out :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

