Sketches for a Future Oil Painting & Anne Kurabiyesi

A few months ago I had a sudden inspiration for a painting; a house on a dirt road in the middle of the night. I’m not sure where the image came from, I was somewhere between asleep and awake and it just popped into my head. I made a preliminary sketch some time ago using Paper by FiftyThree:

image

This first sketch ran away from me and I ended up making it a daytime scene. But the next two were a little bit closer to my original idea:

image

image

I made one more and finally managed to get the angles and colours as they were in my semi-wakeful dream:

image

The house still isn’t right, but that’s something I’ll work on when I get a chance to sit down with some oil paints and make the actual painting…

This week’s dessert is another one from my grandmother’s reperatoire. They’re called Anne Kurabiyesi, which in Turkish means mother’s cookies or mother’s biscuits. They are a plain and simple cookie that go perfectly with some tea.

The measurements for the recipe were a little vague:

3 eggs
3 Turkish coffee cups sugar
3 Turkish coffee cups butter (softened)
Baking soda
A little less than 5 cups flour

(Three Turkish coffee cups turned out to be approximately 3/4 cup and for the baking soda I just guessed 1/2 a tsp because I remember when my grandmother made the biscuits they didn’t rise very much.)

Separate one of the egg yolks and set aside. Mix all other ingredients until a soft dough forms. Let it “rest” for half an hour, then make small balls by rolling them between your palms. Place them on baking sheets (I lined them with parchment paper just to make my life easier) and cover the tops with a little egg yolk. Bake at 350 F for approximately half an hour.

My measurements turned out to be correct, the biscuits had the right taste, but I made them a little too big and cooked them a little too long. However, with some tea I still enjoyed them thoroughly.

image

3 thoughts on “Sketches for a Future Oil Painting & Anne Kurabiyesi

Leave a Reply

