Ottawa Greenbelt & Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

I took this photo a few years ago while walking our dog along the bike path that runs through the Ottawa greenbelt:

image

I’ve since painted it about twelve times using oils, and I decided to draw it one more time as a holiday present for my father. This latest version was made using pastels and coloured pencils:

image

I don’t think this is the last time I will paint this scene, I make it a little differently each time and I enjoy making differing skies. The painting that is permanently at the top of my blog is also the same scene.

This weeks’s dessert is chocolate coconut macaroons. I used the same recipe posted here, except I added two ounces of unsweetened baking chocolate. The recipe in Martha Stewart’s Cookies uses semisweet chocolate, but I prefer things less sweet. Simply cut the chocolate into coarse pieces and add it to the batter…

I made the chocolate pieces too fine, it would have been better in larger chunks. I also had to add an extra egg white because the batter wasn’t sticking together well enough with the extra ingredient. But they were still quite tasty.

image

One thought on “Ottawa Greenbelt & Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

Leave a Reply

