Fun with Sharpies & Sugar Cookies

Remember my baby entertainment post? This week I made a few extra drawings for the board. It’s really just an excuse to draw with Sharpies, something I find very satisfying.

image

image

image

image

My son helped with dessert. We made some simple sugar cookies and had fun decorating them.

The recipe for the cookies is from Martha Stewart’s Cookies and the icing recipe was something I quickly looked up online, but I’ve since closed the link and don’t remember where I found it.

Cookies:
4 cups flour (I used less, the dough seemed “right” with 3.25 to 3.5 cups)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt (I used much less, more like a pinch)
2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
2 cups sugar (I used only 1.5)
2 eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla

Icing:
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp milk

Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl and set aside. Beat the sugar and butter until pale and fluffy. Mix in the eggs and vanilla, then slowly mix in the remaining dry ingredients. Divide dough in half, flatten into disks, wrap in plastic and refrigerate until firm (about an hour). Let the dough stand at room temperature until it’s soft enough to roll, then roll it out and cut out your cookies. Place them on parchment lined baking sheets and chill them in the freezer for approximately 15 minutes. Finally, bake at 325 F for about 16-18 minutes. For the icing simply mix the ingredients and “ice” away…

image

The cookies were quite sweet, and even more so with the icing. Most of the cookies we left bare because my husband and I both prefer things less sweet, and truth be told, we know we’re going to be the ones eating the majority of the cookies.

We don’t have any tools for icing cookies either, so I had to manage with a spoon and my fingers. We also didn’t have any food colouring, but we made do with some sprinkles…

image

The recipe made quite a bit of dough which I saved overnight in the fridge, and the next day while the kids were napping I made some extra cookies. The “spooky ghost” on the right was for my son; since Halloween he’s been into “spooky ghosts.”

image

2 thoughts on “Fun with Sharpies & Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

