Sunset on a Lake & Cranberry Pound Cake

I never got around to posting last week, so today I’m posting a drawing and a dessert.

None of the many drawings I am working on are finished yet, so here is a quick sketch I made on the ipad using the Paper app.

image

My inspiration came from this photo I saw in an old National Geographic from 1989.

image

I was looking through Volume 176 No. 6 because this is the issue that covers the restoration of the Sistine Chapel, and the reason I wanted photos of the Sistine Chapel is a story for a future post!

Now on to dessert! My dad came to visit recently and he requested some baked goods. I decided to try a cranberry pound cake from one of my cookbooks. It should actually be called cranberry butter cake. Butter is yummy. I try to cut down on sugar when baking, but bring on the butter, I’m not afraid to put butter in my desserts 🙂

Here’s Best-Loved Entertaining’s recipe for cranberry pound (butter) cake:

2 sticks unsalted butter
1.5 cups sugar (I used 3/4 non-packed brown sugar)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground mace (I didn’t have mace so I used nutmeg)
4 eggs
2 cups cake flour
1 cup chopped fresh or frozen cranberries

Beat butter, sugar, salt and mace (or nutmeg) with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time until well blended, then add flour at low speed, only a 1/2 cup at a time. Fold in the cranberries.

image

Spoon batter into greased or parchment lined 9 inch loaf pan. Bake at 350 F for 60 to 70 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into centre comes out clean.

image

Delicious!

3 thoughts on “Sunset on a Lake & Cranberry Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

