Strange Bird & Easy Brownies

I’m back!

It’s unfortunately been 3 months since I’ve posted anything. I’ve still been so busy with our new house that I haven’t made any time for my art. But no more! I’m going to make a concerted effort to sit down and draw for at least 2 hours a week if not, hopefully, more. During the holidays I had a chance to set up my studio—yes! We have an extra room that I have claimed for myself! 🙂 So now that I have an actual place to work (other than the kitchen table) I’m optimistic that I will more easily find time to draw.

Here’s a snapshot of my new studio:

IMG_1360

It’s still not 100% complete since this is the room where we are storing the hardwood that is eventually going to be installed in our bedroom:

IMG_1358

But it’s a wonderful start; I am so happy to have a space to work again!

That being said I haven’t been able to complete any of my “in progress” drawings yet. The past few nights I’ve been so tired that I opted to sketch in bed instead of in my studio. So for this week’s posting I decided to share an old drawing that I made while still in University (I think–unfortunately I never dated it). I came across it while organizing my new studio. I gave the original to my father years ago, but I kept a colour photocopy for myself.

IMG_1357

It’s by no means a perfect drawing. The bird isn’t realistic at all and the “water” leaves much to be desired, but this many years later I’m still quite happy with it for whatever reason. Maybe because it’s just a weird image. So I framed it and hung it in my studio:

IMG_1356

I may not have had time to draw for the past few months, but I haven’t stopped baking. I have no excuse for why I haven’t been posting my desserts other than I’ve been lazy! But now I have a nice backlog of yummy desserts, so for the next little while I’ll be sharing a drawing and a recipe in each post.

This week’s dessert comes straight from the back of the Baker’s brand (owned by Kraft) unsweetened chocolate box. It’s the best brownie recipe I’ve ever come across, so it’s usually the one I make. It’s also incredibly easy and fast, which is always nice!

Brownies:

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
¾ cup butter
2 cups sugar (I use only 1.5 cups)
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour

Microwave the chocolate and butter until melted. Stir in sugar until well blended, then mix in eggs and vanilla. Finally stir in the flour. Pour into 8 inch greased (buttered) baking pan and bake at 350 F for 30-35 minutes (or until cake tester/knife inserted into centre comes out mostly clean—with a few crumbs but not wet). You can also easily add nuts or chocolate chips to the recipe.

I used a slightly bigger pan than normal this time so the brownies turned out a little too thin, but they still tasted absolutely divine.

brownies

3 thoughts on “Strange Bird & Easy Brownies

  1. Yum! I think I’ve made those brownies before, but lately I’ve been using a hazelnut flour recipe. Maybe I’ll try this recipe with the hazelnut flour. And definitely going to cut the sugar…

    Like

  2. Hi Simla – glad you’ve got your space and feel you can start on some work, and feel your way back into your creative side. Moving and sorting is time consuming – yet lovely when finished. Brownies – are always good … cheers Hilary

    Like

  3. Pingback: Village House & Chocolate Cake | dessertsanddrawings

Leave a Reply

