Village House & Chocolate Cake

Last week I started a new drawing of my great great grandparents house in Sarıçam, Turkey (a small village in the province of Kastamonu). I worked more quickly than I usually do, so the details aren’t perfect, but I’m pleased that I was able to finish the drawing in much less time than is normal for me.

saricam1

Here is the original photograph I took on a family trip in 2008:

saricam

This week’s dessert is chocolate cake. It’s basically the brownie recipe posted here, but with half the amount of sugar. It was an accidental creation–I was simply trying to make the brownies with less sugar and it turned into a delicious cake instead.

Chocolate Cake

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
¾ cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour

Microwave chocolate and butter until melted. Stir in sugar until well blended, then mix in eggs and vanilla. Finally stir in the flour. Pour into greased (buttered) loaf pan and bake at 350 F for 30-35 minutes (or until cake tester/knife inserted into centre comes out mostly clean—with a few crumbs but not wet).

chocolatecake

It didn’t even last long enough for me to take a picture!

One thought on “Village House & Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

